**Government Bill** 

Fourth Session, Forty-second Parliament 1 Charles III, 2023 Legislative Assembly of British Columbia

# **BILL 25**

# **ELECTORAL DISTRICTS ACT**

Honourable Niki Sharma Attorney General

### **Explanatory Note**

This Bill gives effect to the resolution of the Legislative Assembly approving the report of the Electoral Boundaries Commission entitled "Final Report", dated April 3, 2023.

#### ATTORNEY GENERAL

## BILL 25 – 2023

# **ELECTORAL DISTRICTS ACT**

#### **Contents**

- 1 Number of electoral districts
- 2 Names of electoral districts
- 3 Boundaries of electoral districts
- 4 Area of electoral districts
- 5 Repeal of former Act
- 6 Commencement

#### **SCHEDULE 1**

#### **SCHEDULE 2**

HIS MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of British Columbia, enacts as follows:

#### Number of electoral districts

1 There are to be 93 electoral districts, with one member of the Legislative Assembly to be elected for each.

#### Names of electoral districts

2 The names of the electoral districts are those specified in Schedule 1.

#### Boundaries of electoral districts

3 The boundaries of the electoral districts are those specified in Schedule 2.

#### Area of electoral districts

4 The area of an electoral district consists of that part of the Province comprised within the boundaries of the electoral district.

#### **Repeal of former Act**

5 The *Electoral Districts Act*, S.B.C. 2015, c. 39, is repealed and the electoral districts under that Act are disestablished.

#### Commencement

6 This Act comes into force on the day the 42nd Parliament is dissolved.

#### SCHEDULE 1

#### NAMES OF ELECTORAL DISTRICTS

Abbotsford-Mission Oak Bay-Gordon Head Abbotsford South Peace River North Abbotsford West Peace River South Boundary-Similkameen Penticton-Summerland Bulkley Valley-Stikine Port Coquitlam Burnaby Centre Port Moody-Burquitlam Powell River-Sunshine Coast **Burnaby East** Burnaby-New Westminster Prince George-Mackenzie Burnaby North Prince George-North Cariboo Burnaby South-Metrotown Prince George-Valemount Cariboo-Chilcotin **Richmond-Bridgeport** Chilliwack-Cultus Lake **Richmond** Centre Chilliwack North Richmond-Queensborough Columbia River-Revelstoke Richmond-Steveston Coquitlam-Burke Mountain Saanich North and the Islands Coquitlam-Maillardville Saanich South Courtenay-Comox Salmon Arm-Shuswap Cowichan Valley Skeena Delta North Surrey City Centre Delta South Surrey-Cloverdale Esquimalt-Colwood Surrey-Fleetwood Fraser-Nicola Surrey-Guildford Juan de Fuca-Malahat Surrey-Newton Kamloops Centre Surrey North Kamloops-North Thompson Surrey-Panorama Kelowna Centre Surrey-Serpentine River Kelowna-Lake Country-Coldstream Surrey South Kelowna-Mission Surrey-White Rock Vancouver-Fraserview Kootenay Central Kootenay-Monashee Vancouver-Hastings Kootenay-Rockies Vancouver-Kensington

Ladysmith-Oceanside	Vancouver-Langara
Langford-Highlands	Vancouver-Little Mountain
Langley-Abbotsford	Vancouver-Point Grey
Langley-Walnut Grove	Vancouver-Quilchena
Langley-Willowbrook	Vancouver-Renfrew
Maple Ridge-East	Vancouver-South Granville
Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows	Vancouver-Strathcona
Mid Island-Pacific Rim	Vancouver-West End
Nanaimo-Gabriola Island	Vancouver-Yaletown
Nanaimo-Lantzville	Vernon-Lumby
Nechako Lakes	Victoria-Beacon Hill
New Westminster-Coquitlam	Victoria-Swan Lake
North Coast-Haida Gwaii	West Kelowna-Peachland
North Island	West Vancouver-Capilano
North Vancouver-Lonsdale	West Vancouver-Sea to Sky
North Vancouver-Seymour	

## **SCHEDULE 2**

### **AREAS AND BOUNDARIES OF ELECTORAL DISTRICTS**

The electoral districts listed in Schedule 1 have the areas and boundaries as described in the file entitled "British Columbia Electoral Boundaries Commission (2023).zip", and dated April 3, 2023, on file with the chief electoral officer as defined in section 1 (1) of the *Election Act*.

King's Printer for British Columbia© Victoria, 2023